Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 and Watch Active 2 gets ECG monitoring support in 31 countries

Samsung Galaxy Watch 3 and Watch Active 2 both come with hardware support for ECG monitoring. However, this functionality was only limited to the US and South Korea until last year. Therefore, the company announced that it will soon extend the availability of ECG support for more markets.

Now, the South Korean tech giant has started rolling out the ECG monitoring support for the Galaxy Watch 3 and Watch Active 2 in 31 countries. To start using this new feature, users have to download the latest version of the Samsung Health Monitor app through Galaxy Store.

Join Sammy Fans on Telegram


It is worth noting that the Samsung Health Monitor is an essential tool for blood pressure and ECG measurement. even if the watch contains the hardware and software required for health testing, users still need a Samsung mobile phone paired with the watch for ECG monitoring.

Furthermore, the company has begun sending a new Samsung Health Monitor application update which lets users start using the ECG monitoring support. Among the 31 markets, most of the new countries and regions are in Europe while some in the Middle East and Asia.

ECG Support for Galaxy Watch 3/Watch Active 2:

According to Samsung, the electrocardiogram function works by analyzing the heart’s electrical activity via a sensor on the Galaxy Watch 3 or Galaxy Watch Active 2. Simply open the Samsung Health Monitor app when you are seated comfortably, and ensure the watch is fitted firmly to your wrist.

Later on, rest your forearm on a flat surface and lightly place a fingertip from the opposite hand on the top button on the smartwatch for 30 seconds. The app will then measure your heart rate and rhythm, which will be classified as either a Sinus Rhythm (a normal, regular heartbeat) or AFib (when the heart beats irregularly).

Below, you can check the list of countries that are eligible for ECG support:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Bulgaria
  4. Croatia
  5. Czech Republic
  6. Denmark
  7. Estonia
  8. Finland
  9. France
  10. Germany
  11. Greece
  12. Hungary,
  13. Iceland
  14. Ireland
  15. Italy
  16. Latvia
  17. Lithuania
  18. The Netherlands
  19. Norway
  20. Poland
  21. Portugal
  22. Romania
  23. Slovakia,
  24. Slovenia
  25. Spain
  26. Sweden
  27. Switzerland
  28. UK
  29. Chile
  30. Indonesia
  31. UAE

| Via1/Via2 |

To Top